Upcoming Events Upcoming Events available at themintla.com http://themintla.com/rss.cfm Fri, 27 Mar 2015 08:39:08 PST en-us Upcoming Events https://s3.amazonaws.com/webassets.ticketmob.com/TS/templates/images/logos/B87DAD1C-BA99-98AF-0CBAEF643D4A141C.png http://themintla.com/rss.cfm Copyright 2015 themintla.com http://themintla.com/ <![CDATA[Brendan Kelly Of Lawrence Arms / Ghost Lit Kingdom / Green Light Theory / Tiger Suplex]]> Fri, 27 Mar 2015 08:30:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=192248 <![CDATA[The Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band / The Get Down Boys / Leopold & His Fiction]]> Ages 21+
WIDE OPEN DANCEFLOOR.
FIRST COME / FIRST SERVED SEATING at BAR.
]]>
Sat, 28 Mar 2015 08:45:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=185770
<![CDATA[PRIVATE EVENT 2pm-5pm]]> Sun, 29 Mar 2015 02:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=194226 <![CDATA[Hawthorne Heights / Courage My Love / Shane Henderson + Mark Rose / Dayseeker (Doors open 7:30)]]> STANDING ROOM ONLY.
Ages 16 and over.
]]>
Sun, 29 Mar 2015 08:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=187077
<![CDATA[The Young Evils / Smokey Brights / Shotty / Total Navajo / Leana Courtney]]> Mon, 30 Mar 2015 07:45:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=193041 <![CDATA[Young Pandas / Ships Have Sailed / Rosechild / Tiny Deaths / Bakkuda]]> Tue, 31 Mar 2015 07:45:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=188034 <![CDATA[The Congress / The Moves / Mary Bue]]> Wed, 01 Apr 2015 08:30:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=191796 <![CDATA[Sean Healy Presents:]]> Thu, 02 Apr 2015 07:20:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=193266 <![CDATA[Doris / Fifth Law / Ryan Nealon Band / The Kansas City Wizards / Malloy]]> Fri, 03 Apr 2015 08:15:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=193945 <![CDATA[Alex Cole & The Bigrough / The Clams / The Midway / Skidan (Early Show)]]> Sat, 04 Apr 2015 07:30:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=194243 <![CDATA[Volto! (Late Show- Doors open 11:00)]]> THIS SHOW IS STANDING ROOM ONLY.
No flash photography / No video of any kind (per artist request)]]>
Sat, 04 Apr 2015 11:55:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=196031
<![CDATA[Zach Heckendorf / Kat Myers & The Buzzards]]> Sun, 05 Apr 2015 08:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=193691 <![CDATA[HUNNYPOT RADIO LIVE]]> Mon, 06 Apr 2015 07:05:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=195183 <![CDATA[Taylor Scott / Billy Thompson with special guest Daryl Johnson / Sean Pawling / Nigel Walsh]]> Tue, 07 Apr 2015 08:30:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=196316 <![CDATA[Picture Atlantic / Annuals / Paperfox / Red Letter Kill]]> Wed, 08 Apr 2015 07:45:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=188109 <![CDATA[Purple Crayon / The Dip / Maya Angeles / Fox Pleasure Equation / Social Bandit]]> Thu, 09 Apr 2015 07:45:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=193230 <![CDATA[Parlee / Dave Cavalier / Taylor Ann Winn / Reli / Edith Crash]]> Fri, 10 Apr 2015 08:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=194845 <![CDATA[Sean Healy Presents:]]> Sat, 11 Apr 2015 07:20:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=193267 <![CDATA[Once & Future Band / Occult Wisdom / Zach Ramacier / Freedom Heartsong]]> Sun, 12 Apr 2015 08:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=191801 <![CDATA[Dead Man Kingdom / Billy Joseph / The Alley Crabs / Jared Saltiel]]> Mon, 13 Apr 2015 07:45:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=196703 <![CDATA[Nerd Nite]]>

Seating is first come / first served.

PRESENTATION #1: Solving Amazon Mysteries- Turtle Tears, Fake Spiders, and Thieving Butterflies
By Phil Torres
 
Why do butterflies drink turtle tears? How can a spider create a larger sculpture of itself? And how can butterflies steal right from the mouth of their predator? These novel behaviors made viral science news globally but also make more than just a good photo opp, they represent a complex evolutionary history and relationship of beast, jungle, and land.
 
Bio: Phil Torres is host of the science innovation show TechKnow on Al Jazeera America and an entomologist by training. During his two years running research projects in the remote Amazon rainforest he made multiple discoveries that captivated a large audience and were featured in National Geographic, the BBC, I F*cking Love Science, Wired, and more. He's also tackled tiger sharks, dove in the submarine Alvin to the bottom of the ocean, been held at gunpoint, and got lost in a forest full of quicksand- all in the name of science, of course.
 
PRESENTATION #2: What the Flux?! How to fix a leaky bucket full of plasma
By Gio Rossi
 
Overview: Nuclear fusion has the potential to solve all of our energy needs and get us one step closer to warp drives. However, the only state of matter at which fusion can occur is as a plasma, which is a very difficult state to control. I'll present current research on different techniques to try and contain plasma and why you shouldn't be worried about your blood. 
 
Bio: A 4th year graduate student studying plasma physics at UCLA, Gio did his undergraduate at University of Texas at Austin. When he's not busy saving the world, Gio enjoys surfing, playing cello, and Pliny the Elder.
 
PRESENTATION #3: The History of Role-Playing Games
By Shane Liesegang
 
Role-playing games have evolved a lot since Dungeons & Dragons first hit the scene in the late 1970s. This talk will trace their origin and development through tabletop and computer games and explore some theories for how the two different forms have influenced each other. 
 
Bio: Shane is a game developer and writer who has worked at Walt Disney Imagineering, Electronic Arts, and Bethesda Game Studios, where he helped make 2011's game of the year, ""Skyrim."" He's now an independent consultant for games and other entertainment experiences, most recently contributing to unannounced projects at Sony and Disney.
]]>
Tue, 14 Apr 2015 07:45:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=186312
<![CDATA[Tuatara]]> This show is Standing Room Only.]]> Wed, 15 Apr 2015 09:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=193864 <![CDATA[Caveman Voicebox / Suspect / To Her For Them / Jon Wahl & the Amadans]]> Thu, 16 Apr 2015 08:30:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=196617 <![CDATA[The Haunted Windchimes / Family Of Light / Lune]]> Fri, 17 Apr 2015 08:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=194772 <![CDATA[The Boom Booms / Everly Snodgrass / Dave Cavalier / Nomi Abadi / TAARKA]]> Sat, 18 Apr 2015 08:30:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=194840 <![CDATA[HUNNYPOT RADIO LIVE]]> Mon, 20 Apr 2015 07:05:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=197190 <![CDATA[The Shame & The Waste / Suddenly Boy N Girl / Starlight Theatre / Histories / Zac James]]> Tue, 21 Apr 2015 07:15:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=196442 <![CDATA[Delhi 2 Dublin]]> Wed, 22 Apr 2015 10:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=194513 <![CDATA[Pamela Parker / Sobak / Blahdios / Ganesha (Early Show)]]> Sat, 25 Apr 2015 07:30:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=196783 <![CDATA[Duckwrth & The Kickdrums (Late Show ~ Doors open at 10:30)]]> Sat, 25 Apr 2015 11:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=195343 <![CDATA[Roosevelt Dime / Soul Track Mind / Water Seed / Sweet Lips]]> Sun, 26 Apr 2015 08:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=195805 <![CDATA[Psychostick / Downtown Brown / Urizen]]> Mon, 27 Apr 2015 08:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=194510 <![CDATA[One-Eyed Doll / Victory! Victory! / Dream In Red / ASS LIFE]]> Tue, 28 Apr 2015 07:45:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=194037 <![CDATA[Future Thieves / Angelou / Joshua Black Wilkins / Empty Spaces]]> Wed, 29 Apr 2015 07:30:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=191798 <![CDATA[Sean Healy Presents Heffron Drive: Unplugged Album & Video Release Party]]> BUY TICKETS HERE:
http://www.ticketweb.com/t3/sale/SaleEventDetail?dispatch=loadSelectionData&eventId=5735015&pl=shealy

Under age 21 pays $5 extra at door.

]]>
Thu, 30 Apr 2015 08:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=198009
<![CDATA[Vic Ruggiero with special guests Jesse Wagner & Keppie Ghoulie / The Delirians]]> Vic Ruggiero (Slackers)
Jesse Wagner (Aggrolites)
Keppie Ghoulie (Groovie Ghoulies)]]>
Fri, 01 May 2015 11:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=195892
<![CDATA[Rebel House Radio / The Sound Of Ghosts / Lade / Fare The Gap / The City Grimm]]> Sat, 02 May 2015 10:15:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=196196 <![CDATA[Golden Touch Management presents]]> Sun, 03 May 2015 07:30:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=199961 <![CDATA[KBH Entertainment presents:]]> Tue, 05 May 2015 07:30:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=197035 <![CDATA[Greyhounds / Miles Tackett]]> Thu, 07 May 2015 10:30:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=195342 <![CDATA[The Brevet / Clean Corruption / ALÉ / Flow Tribe / Lido Beach]]> Fri, 08 May 2015 08:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=197157 <![CDATA[Monophonics]]> Sat, 09 May 2015 11:15:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=194240 <![CDATA[Big Sam's Funky Nation / The Earful]]> THIS SHOW IS STANDING ROOM ONLY. DINNER & DRINKS CAN BE PURCHASED AT THE BAR.]]> Sun, 10 May 2015 09:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=189492 <![CDATA[Jakubi / Bodhi Rock]]> Mon, 11 May 2015 08:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=194878 <![CDATA[Nerd Nite]]>

Seating is first come / first served.
]]>
Tue, 12 May 2015 07:45:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=190848
<![CDATA[Melina Diehl]]> Thu, 14 May 2015 07:45:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=200069 <![CDATA[Blue King Brown]]> Tickets on sale Fri March 6 at 10:00 am.]]> Fri, 15 May 2015 11:15:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=196450 <![CDATA[Vandelay / The Few / Filmspeed]]> Sat, 16 May 2015 08:30:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=198186 <![CDATA[Jimbo Mathus]]> Sun, 17 May 2015 10:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=198139 <![CDATA[The Skints]]> Tue, 19 May 2015 10:30:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=196866 <![CDATA[LaTasha Lee & The Blackties / Gregory Boyd]]> Wed, 20 May 2015 08:10:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=196787 <![CDATA[Fly Moon Royalty]]>
TICKETS ON SALE THUR MARCH 19 at 10:00 AM]]>
Thu, 21 May 2015 11:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=198234
<![CDATA[Mike Love]]> Fri, 22 May 2015 08:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=198504 <![CDATA[Harmful If Swallowed / LA River Swim Team]]> Sat, 23 May 2015 11:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=197096 <![CDATA[CUBENSIS]]> Sun, 24 May 2015 07:30:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=196603 <![CDATA[Pree]]> Tue, 26 May 2015 10:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=198189 <![CDATA[Dost]]> Wed, 27 May 2015 08:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=200048 <![CDATA[William Elliott Whitmore with special guest Esme Patterson / Roses & Cigarettes]]> This show is standing room only.
 ]]>
Thu, 28 May 2015 08:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=194877
<![CDATA[Rising Appalachia]]> Tickets on sale Fri, March 27 at 10:00 am

THIS SHOW IS STANDING ROOM ONLY.
DINNER & DRINKS CAN BE PURCHASED AT THE BAR.
]]>
Sat, 30 May 2015 10:30:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=200194
<![CDATA[The London Souls]]> TICKETS ON SALE FRI MARCH 27 at 10:00 am]]> Sun, 31 May 2015 10:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=199960 <![CDATA[Emily Wolfe]]> Tue, 02 Jun 2015 10:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=198235 <![CDATA[Peter Himmelman]]>
DINNER RESERVATIONS: deana@themintla.com]]>
Thu, 04 Jun 2015 08:45:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=198411
<![CDATA[El Metate (Late Show Doors open 9:45)]]> Thu, 04 Jun 2015 10:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=199883 <![CDATA[Great Spirit / Hot Potato]]> Mon, 08 Jun 2015 09:15:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=198188 <![CDATA[Nerd Nite]]>
Seating is first come / first served.
]]>
Tue, 09 Jun 2015 07:45:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=190849
<![CDATA[Glen David Andrews]]> THIS IS A STANDING ROOM ONLY SHOW.
DINNER & DRINKS CAN BE PURCHASED AT THE BAR.
]]>
Thu, 18 Jun 2015 11:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=193272
<![CDATA[Randy Macallister]]> Sun, 05 Jul 2015 10:00:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=198441 <![CDATA[Nerd Nite]]>
Seating is first come / first served.
]]>
Tue, 14 Jul 2015 07:45:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=197816
<![CDATA[Nerd Nite]]>
Seating is first come / first served.
]]>
Tue, 11 Aug 2015 07:45:00 PST http://themintla.com/event.cfm?id=197817